Basware completes Trustpair deal, terms not disclosed
Basware completed its acquisition of Trustpair on October 5 and left the fraud firm independent. Terms were not disclosed, and rival stacks can still deploy it.

Having tracked payables deals in which the fraud tool disappears into the buyer's suite, I read Basware's completed acquisition of Trustpair as a question of who can still buy the product. On October 5, 2026, in Paris, Trustpair said the purchase following the August agreement is done. Trustpair keeps its platform, specialist focus, customer relationships, contracts and support. Neither that note nor Basware's release states a price.
The binding agreement dated August 26, 2026 already described Trustpair customers running SAP, Oracle, Coupa, Zycus, Ivalua, Jaggaer and Kyriba. The completion note says customers can still deploy Trustpair without using Basware, and that the open-ecosystem strategy is unchanged. If that line holds, Basware has closed an undisclosed deal for a control its rivals' customers can keep. The shape is familiar from Visa's agreement to buy BioCatch, another purchase aimed at stopping fraud before the payment rather than after the loss.
What the October 5 close changes
Basware's invoice lifecycle management judges whether an obligation is authentic, accurate, compliant and approved. Trustpair judges whether the supplier is genuine, whether the bank account belongs to that supplier, and whether the funds are going to the intended destination. A cleared invoice can still pay a substituted account. That gap is the reason the companies give for combining.
Jason Kurtz, CEO at Basware, said in the completion announcement: "An invoice can be authentic and accurate, but the financial outcome is still wrong if the payment goes to the wrong account." He added that, since the agreement was announced, "customers have told us this is the missing piece they have been waiting for." No customer is named. That is the only customer reaction the release gives.
Baptiste Collot, co-founder and CEO at Trustpair, said "finance leaders recognize you can no longer dissociate the invoice from payment assurance without exposing your business to severe fraud." He said Trustpair would keep its "independent, system-agnostic approach" and its "nine-year legacy of specialist payment assurance." The August note dated the firm to 2017 and called it a Nacha Preferred Partner. The note's line about a first end-to-end assurance is the buyer's phrase, not a survey of other products.
Rivals are not on the record
Coupa, Zycus, Ivalua, Jaggaer, Kyriba, SAP and Oracle are not quoted. Those are the systems the August agreement said Trustpair already serves. A missing quote is not a reply from those firms. It does show Basware's emphasis at the close: contracts stay in place, and a customer need not move onto Basware to keep the product. The August note said the check runs at onboarding, when account details change, and again before a payment is authorized.
This desk has already reported on APP fraud liability under PSD3. Vendor-master fraud is not that statute, but the control being sold is still a check before funds move. Basware's Trustpair page says the product confirms supplier identity and bank account ownership before payment, across 190-plus countries. Cleavr's €8 million seed went to invoice collection, not to a changed supplier account.
Industry Spread's October 11 report on Routable's sale to Anchorage Digital also found no published price. Two missing figures do not produce a multiple. The August note did say this buy follows Basware's 2023 to 2025 acquisitions of Glantus, AP Matching and Redmap, next to invoice-fraud and duplicate-detection tools already in the platform, and it described Basware as backed by Accel-KKR.
The figures, then the test
For Basware's 6,500-plus customers, the companies say assurance now runs from the invoice through to payment. Longer term, they see a chance to combine 2.5 billion invoices and 20 million suppliers with Trustpair's fraud intelligence. Trustpair says it secures payments for over 600 organizations, including Fortune 500 companies, from New York, Paris and London, with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification. Basware cites 40-plus years and names DHL, Heineken and NBC Universal Media.
Kevin Permenter, research director at IDC, called the proposed combination "a logical strategic fit and a timely move into an area of the market that remains underserved." He was speaking in August, before the close. The same note said Axeleo Capital, Breega and Tikehau Capital would keep supporting Trustpair. The October 5 papers do not repeat that, so they do not show who owns the firm now.
Basware will be tempted to place Trustpair inside its own procure-to-pay flow if those fraud checks are trained on 2.5 billion invoices. That serves Kurtz's customers and tests whether a Coupa or Kyriba buyer can still take the control alone. The site lists Trustpair beside AP Protect rather than as one merged module. The close says integrations across ERP, treasury, procure-to-pay and payment platforms will keep expanding, and those releases are the test of the open stack. The recording the companies linked is their account of how the products meet.
Reporting by Rick Steves. Filed 19 October 2026, 17:10 GMT.




