Breaking

18th Street Trading review: the invitation that costs $446

18th Street Trading review: the invitation that costs $446

Verdict: 18th Street Trading sells one thing publicly — a $50,000 one-step futures assessment — and documents it better than most of the sector, publishing its all-in cost, its consistency maths and its termination rules before you pay. It suits patient intraday futures traders who want no time limit and no daily loss limit. It does not suit anyone who trades in bursts, travels, or wants live capital: every stage is simulated, and thirty idle days ends the account along with any gains still in it.

Key terms, as the firm publishes them

  • Assessment fee: $149 on DXFutures, $171 on Volumetrica, $201 on Rithmic, per the Qualification specification.
  • Activation fee: a further $149 after you pass, before the account is funded — the same at every account size.
  • Total to a funded account: $298 – $350 by platform — the firm’s own figure.
  • Equity growth target: $3,000, or 6%.
  • Maximum trailing loss: $1,500 (3%), end of day, locking permanently at the starting balance. Daily loss limit: none.
  • Consistency requirement: 33.33% — best day divided by total gains — at every stage to $150,000.
  • Minimum trading days: 3. Time limit: none. Resets: none.
  • Payouts: 80/20 above a 3% non-withdrawable buffer; first request on demand, then every 30 days, capped at 50% of gains — see the firm’s FAQ.

One product, and a price the firm prints twice

18th Street Trading launched publicly in August 2026 with a single purchasable product. No $25,000 tier, no $100,000 tier you can buy, no subscription. “There is no menu of larger accounts to purchase and no higher starting point available for a higher price,” the homepage says. “That is deliberate.”

On the disclosure that usually catches traders out, the firm is better than its peers. The second fee — $149, payable only after you pass — is not buried in a help-centre article. It sits in the main specification table, a row above the line “Total to a funded account $298 – $350 · by platform.” Most firms make you discover that number after paying the first one.

Which makes the call-to-action beneath that table odd: “$149 – $201 · One-time assessment fee by platform · No subscription.” The same phrasing closes the FAQ page. Both statements are true in isolation, but a reader who scrolls to the button without reading the table above will price a funded account at $149 when the firm’s own arithmetic puts it at $298. For context, we have priced a $100,000 account across 23 firms.

The ladder the firm says cannot be bought

The brand rests on progression: the public $50,000 Assessment, a $50,000 Funded Trader account, then $100,000 Institutional Trader and $150,000 Capital Partner allocations, both by private invitation. The Progression page is emphatic about what that means commercially: “No prices appear on this page, because three of these four stages cannot be bought.” Elsewhere on it: “nothing here can be purchased.”

The FAQ says otherwise. Asked “Do the private $100,000 and $150,000 Qualifications have fees?”, the firm answers: “Yes… On DXFutures these are $297 and $446 respectively… Successfully completing either Qualification also requires the separate $149 Activation Fee.”

So the invitation is free; the stage it opens is not. A trader climbing the full ladder on DXFutures pays $149 and $149 to reach funded status, $297 and $149 to attempt Institutional, and $446 and $149 to attempt Capital Partner — $1,339 in total for a $150,000 account. None of it is refundable on a breach, and none guarantees the allocation: “The fee provides the opportunity to qualify for the next allocation; it does not purchase advancement.”

The distinction the firm draws is real — you cannot skip the queue with money. But “three of these four stages cannot be bought” is a stronger claim than the fee schedule supports, and the page making it is the only one on the site without prices.

Payouts: thirty days, half at a time

The payout mechanics are published in full and are restrictive. A 3% non-withdrawable buffer — $1,500 on a $50,000 account — never leaves the account, and the 80/20 split applies only above it. The firm’s worked example: at $51,500 equity nothing is available; at $52,500, $800 reaches the trader.

The first request has no waiting period. Every request after it sits on a 30-day cycle, and none may exceed 50% of accumulated gains. The consistency requirement is re-checked at payout, not only at qualification — a trader who passes cleanly and then has one outsized session must keep trading to bring the ratio back under 33.33% before the money is releasable.

One further mechanic matters. Requesting a payout permanently locks the trailing threshold at the starting balance: at $54,000 equity a request fixes the breach level at $50,000, and “withdrawing every dollar of gain would end the account.” That is unusually candid — compare the payout arithmetic at Legacy Funded Futures.

The rules that end accounts

Three deserve emphasis. First, inactivity: “Thirty consecutive days without an executed trade terminates the account at any stage, including gains not yet withdrawn. It cannot be paused, including for travel.” Read against a 30-day payout cycle that is a narrow corridor: a funded trader who takes a month off between payouts can lose the account and the money waiting in it.

Second, no resets. A breached assessment must be repurchased at $149 to $201. Several futures competitors sell resets at a fraction of the original fee.

Third, the trailing loss is end-of-day rather than intraday — friendlier than the intraday variants common in the sector — but it never moves down, and no daily loss limit stops one bad session reaching it. News trading is permitted, including holding through a release, with new entries barred within three minutes either side of a red-folder print. Automated strategies are allowed; positions auto-flatten at 1555 CST.

How the terms compare

$50,000 futures account 18th Street Trading Take Profit Trader Topstep (Express)
Trader’s share of gains 80% 80% (PRO), 90% (PRO+) 90%
One-off fee after passing $149 $130 Not stated in the published rules
Minimum trading days 3 3 3 (40% consistency route) or 5 winning days of $150+
Minimum days between payouts 30 0 0 — no waiting period in the Express rules
Resets after a breach 0 Up to 3 Not stated in the published rules
Live capital at the top tier No — simulated to $150,000 Yes — PRO+ is live Yes — Live Funded Account

Sources: the 18th Street specification, Take Profit Trader’s account table and Topstep’s Express Funded Account rules, read on 19 September 2026. On payout cadence 18th Street is the slowest of the three: Take Profit Trader advertises “no waiting for some random ‘payout window'”, and Topstep’s rules set conditions for a payout but no interval between them.

Who you are actually contracting with

The brand line is “Institutional Capital. Professional Traders.” The institutional capital is not 18th Street’s. A disclaimer at the foot of every page reads: “18th Street Trading is an affiliate of Prop Account, LLC. All funding assessments are provided by Prop Account, LLC and all assessment fees are paid to Prop Account, LLC. If you qualify for a Funded Account, you will be required to enter into a Trader Agreement with Prop Account LC.” So the firm whose name is on the door neither runs the assessment nor collects the fee.

Those are two different companies, and the second is offshore. The client terms, updated September 2026, name the counterparty group as “Prop Account, d/b/a Dashboard Analytix, Forest Park FX LTD, Prop Account LLC, Prop Account Cayman, LC”, with notice addresses at Boca Raton, Florida and Camana Bay, Grand Cayman. 18th Street Trading, LLC is registered to a suite at 732 S 6th St, Las Vegas. Card charges appear as “dashboardanalytix.com” — flagged in the FAQ, to the firm’s credit, since the descriptor carries no trace of the brand.

Prop Account sells exactly this arrangement — a white-label service promising to “launch your white-label prop firm in as little as one week”, with capital backing, risk, payments, KYC and support supplied by the vendor. We reviewed that product separately as a prop firm in a box. It is not a mark against 18th Street — much of the futures sector runs this way — but it recalibrates the founder’s letter. Jay R. Pocius writes: “I personally review every trader considered for invitation into our private Institutional and Capital Partner Qualifications. Those invitations will never be automatic.” The selection standard is plausibly his. The capital, the platform, the payouts and the contract are a vendor’s.

On regulation the firm is clean by omission: it claims no CFTC, NFA or other registration anywhere. The risk disclosure states that all accounts “operate in a simulated trading environment using notional capital” and that balances “do not represent cash deposited on behalf of the trader… or funds available for withdrawal.” That holds at every stage, including the $150,000 Capital Partner account: progression “does not represent a transition to live market execution.”

What we could not verify

No payout evidence exists yet. The firm publishes no pass rate, no payout totals and no audited distribution data. Its Trustpilot profile exists and was claimed in August 2026 but carries zero reviews and no TrustScore, and we found no first-hand payout reports at the time of writing. That is a function of age rather than evasion — but every figure here comes from the firm’s own documents, and none has been tested by a trader getting paid.

For contrast, Take Profit Trader publishes that 36.22% of its trading tests were passed during 2025. 18th Street publishes nothing equivalent. The refund position is strict: the policy says that once login details are emailed “no refund will be given”, and traders who dispute charges “will be permanently banned from the Platform.” Absent ratings cut both ways, as in our FundedHive review.

FAQ

What does a funded 18th Street account actually cost?
Between $298 and $350 by platform: the $149–$201 assessment fee plus a $149 activation fee charged after you pass. The firm publishes that total itself, though the button beneath it quotes only the first number.

Can I buy the $100,000 or $150,000 account?
No. Both are invitation-only, issued on the firm’s judgement of your record. If invited, you still pay for the qualification — $297 and $446 respectively on DXFutures — plus the $149 activation fee on completion. The invitation is free; the stage is not.

Are the accounts real money?
No. Every account, from the $50,000 assessment to the $150,000 Capital Partner allocation, is simulated with notional capital — stated in the risk disclosure and repeated in the FAQ. Gains are real and payable; the environment is not live market execution.

What happens if I stop trading for a month?
The account is terminated at any stage, including gains not yet withdrawn, and the rule cannot be paused, including for travel. Against the 30-day payout cycle, this is the term most likely to cost a funded trader money. A comparable payout-timing trap appears in our Mubite review.

This review is independent editorial analysis and is not financial, investment, or trading advice, and is not an endorsement or solicitation. The Industry Spread has no affiliate or referral relationship with the firms covered. Proprietary trading challenges carry a fee that is generally non-refundable, most participants do not reach a funded account, and funded capital is the firm’s capital, not the trader’s. Terms change frequently — always verify current rules directly with the firm before paying any fee.

Abdelaziz Fathi covers the intersection of forex/CFD brokerage, regulation, liquidity, fintech, and digital assets. With a B.A. in Finance and hands-on industry exposure, Aziz blends analytical rigor with clear storytelling to make complex market structure understandable for traders, brokers, and fintech professionals.

Most Read

Related Posts

Imdustry insights

Stay Ahead

Get the latest news, insights, and market updates delivered to your inbox every day.

Enter your email address