Monarch acquires HMBradley team, not the bank brand
Monarch's first deal takes the HMBradley team, now MBI, into Monarch Labs. The October 1 release keeps the app brand and leaves the old bank name behind.

Having tracked neobank brand exits since the 2023 consumer shutdowns, the fact that stands out is that Monarch is not keeping the HMBradley name. On October 1, 2026, the personal-finance platform, announcing from San Francisco, said it had acquired MBI, the company formerly known as HMBradley, and would place that team inside a new unit called Monarch Labs. Finextra carried the deal on October 2, 2026: Monarch has acquired the digital banking fintech formerly known as HMBradley. The release and Monarch's own note both use that past tense. Neither says the bank brand returns.
That choice cuts against the charter race elsewhere in consumer fintech. Nubank bought a Brazilian bank in order to keep "bank" in the name. Chime is buying partner Stride Bank, the institution rather than a product squad. Monarch is buying the people who once ran a savings brand and parking them under its own name. Distribution stays with the budgeting app. The bank name stays retired.
What the October 1 release actually buys
The company release pairs the acquisition with a scale marker. Monarch said it has hit $100 million in annual recurring revenue (ARR), and that the MBI team will support plans to widen products for more than 1 million members. Founded in 2018 and backed by FPV, Menlo Ventures, Accel and Forerunner, it also cited 2026 spots on Fast Company's Most Innovative Companies list, the Forbes Fintech 50 and TIME's list of America's Best Financial Services Providers, plus the launch of premium tier Monarch Plus. The release does not state a purchase price. Dealroom, writing on October 1, called it Monarch's first acquisition and said terms were not disclosed.
Zach Bruhnke, co-founder and chief executive of MBI, will lead Monarch Labs, with a brief to build products rather than revive a brand. The release says the unit should turn ideas into tools on the existing platform while the core app keeps improving. Two earlier products are named, and neither is promised inside the app. HMBradley paid higher annual percentage yields (APYs) when customers saved a larger share of incoming money, then built Routines, automations that used triggers and actions to save, move and organize money. That history explains the hire. It is not a roadmap.
Rivals stayed quiet, and the bank name was already gone
Budgeting rivals have not answered in public. No statement from YNAB, Copilot Money or Rocket Money turned up in coverage checked for this piece. The louder moves are about licences. Klarna has filed for a US bank charter to leave a partner bank. Increase, started by Stripe's first employee, took an FDIC bank charter. Monarch's release names none of those firms, and it names no regulator.
In the October 1 release, Val Agostino, co-founder and chief executive of Monarch, said: "With more than one million members and $100 million in ARR, Monarch has reached an exciting new stage of growth. This scale gives us the opportunity to further invest in our mission, and bringing the MBI team onboard is an important part of that next chapter. We're building toward a future where Monarch doesn't just provide deep insight, but helps consumers confidently take action and make the most of their money to build the lives they want."
Bruhnke, in the same release, framed the move as craft rather than a revived marque: "Our team has spent the better part of a decade learning how to build both consumer financial products and the infrastructure behind them."
The consumer brand had already failed its own test. On November 17, 2023, Finextra reported that HMBradley was winding down consumer accounts and would try to sell its technology to banks. Bruhnke, then chief executive, told customers: "Throughout 2023, it became evident that our consumer brand growth was falling short of our goals." Deposit and credit card programmes were to close within 30 days. Months earlier, New York Community Bank was maintaining customer deposits, and HMBradley had rolled out a Thought Machine core. Agostino's October 1 note is the only current source for the old book's size. He wrote that he watched HMBradley grow to more than $800 million in consumer deposits, then watched much of that team stay together as the firm became MBI. He does not say those deposits move with the deal.
What comes next follows from the omissions. Monarch has hired the group that built savings triggers, but the announcement describes no deposit charter, no sponsor-bank handoff and no HMBradley account under a new owner. An app at $100 million in ARR can test an automation where members already manage money. A deposit product would need a bank partner and a brand retired in 2023. A charter filing would be a different story.
Reporting by Rick Steves. Filed 4 October 2026, 08:12 GMT.




