Marshall Bailey, Chairman of LCH Group

London Stock Exchange Group Appoints Marshall Bailey as Chairman of Clearing House

LCH GroupThe London Stock Exchange Group has announced the appointment of  Marshall Bailey as Chairman of LCH Group as Professor Lex Hoogduin is stepping down from the role of Chairman and as a Non-Executive Director of LSEG. LSEG has also announced the appointment of Marshall Bailey OBE and Ruth Wandhöfer as Independent Non-Executive Directors to its Group Board. The appointment of Marshall Bailey is effective immediately and Ruth Wandhöfer will join the Board on 22nd October 2018.

Professor Lex Hoogduin will continue to serve as Chairman of LCH Ltd. and LCH SA and he will also continue as an independent director at LCHG. Prof. Hoogduin has been serving as a member of the Board since December 2015 and Chairman of LCHG from March same year.

Marshall Bailey has an extensive experience of the workings of the financial services sector with over three decades of experience. He has gained a considerable amount of experience in capital markets, regulatory and risk. Currently, he is the Chair of the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. He has also served as a Non-Executive Director of UK Financial Investments also served as President of ACI Financial Markets Association. He has also held senior level positions at State Street Global Markets and RBC Capital Markets.

Ruth Wandhöfer has near to two decades of experience in the financial and fintech space. Most recently, she was leading as a Global Head of Regulatory & Market Strategy for Treasury and Trade Solutions at Citi, where she spent over a decade in a variety of regulatory roles. She has also gained a considerable amount of experience in the emerging Fintech and RegTech sector. Previously she has spent close to four years as a Policy Adviser on Securities Services and Payments at the European Banking Federation.

Donald Brydon, Chairman, London Stock Exchange Group
Donald Brydon, Chairman, London Stock Exchange Group

Donald Brydon, Chairman of London Stock Exchange Group plc, commented on the new appointments:

“On behalf of the Board, I would like to welcome Marshall Bailey and Ruth Wandhöfer to the Board. They both bring to the Group extensive experience of regulated global financial markets. Marshall’s knowledge, gained from Board and management positions in the UK and around the world, will allow him to offer valuable commercial and regulatory insight to LCH Group and LSEG. Ruth’s background in regulatory and technology change within complex businesses will be of great benefit to the Group as we continue to develop our global business.”

“I would like to thank Professor Lex Hoogduin for his commitment and significant contribution in his role as a Non-Executive Director of LSEG and as Chairman of LCH Group Limited over the past three years. I am pleased that the Group will continue to benefit from his experience as Chairman of LCH Ltd and LCH SA.”