APRA announces the 2019 Brian Gray Scholarship recipients

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority – APRA has announced the recipients of the 2019 Brian Gray Scholarships.
The Brian Gray Scholarship program was established by APRA and the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) in September 2002 in memory of Brian Gray, APRA’s former Executive General Manager, Policy Research and Consulting, who spent more than two decades shaping regulatory policy in the financial area in his roles at the RBA and APRA.


The scholarships, valued at $15,000 each, support students pursuing careers in finance, economics, actuarial science, econometrics, statistics or related disciplines.
The recipients of the 2019 scholarship are:
Under the program, scholarship recipients will devote a substantial amount of time to an agreed research topic and present their findings to APRA and RBA staff upon completion of their research. The scholarship recipients will be researching the following topics:
  • A structured investigation of retirement income products  – Luke Zhou; and
  • Exploring gains to monetary policy cooperation if authorities use exchange rates as their monetary policy instrument – Raymond He.
The Scholarship program is open to Australian and New Zealand citizens and permanent residents completing their honours year or postgraduate studies on topics of relevance to APRA and the RBA.
More information on the Brian Gray Scholarship is available on the APRA website at: Brian Gray Scholarship program

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) is the prudential regulator of the financial services industry. It oversees banks, credit unions, building societies, general insurance and reinsurance companies, life insurance, private health insurers, friendly societies, and most members of the superannuation industry. APRA currently supervises institutions holding $6 trillion in assets for Australian depositors, policyholders and superannuation fund members.